This website created
and maintained by the REC

The Adriatic Sea is the most endangered region in the Mediterranean Sea — a highly sensitive marine area facing serious environmental challenges that is home to some of the most significant treasures of world heritage. It is expected to be placed on the International Maritime Organization (IMO) list of particularly sensitive sea areas. The Adriatic region is economically significant for tourism and recreation, a major transport hub for energy resources, and one of Europe’s most highly developed industrial areas.

The six countries on the Adriatic (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Italy, Montenegro and Slovenia) include EU member states, candidate countries, and potential members. Their recent history has been marked by intensive and diverse development with increasing impacts on the health of the sea. more>>


October 30, 2007

ASP Seminar “How to Get EU Funding for Adriatic Sea Partnership Projects”, Portoroz, Slovenia  more>>

October 11, 2007

Side Event to the Sixth Ministerial Conference “Environment for Europe”, Belgrade more>>

April 3, 2007

First Partnership Meeting, Sarajevo more>>

November 7-11, 2006

Side Event on the ASP: a session to be held in conjunction with the Extraordinary Meeting of MAP Focal Points, Catania, Italy more>>