This website created
and maintained by the REC

Adriatic Euroregions

The Council of Europe supports the initiative of Congress of Local and Regional Authorities of the Council of Europe, together with local and regional authorities of Adriatic countries of the establishment of an Adriatic Euroregion with resolution 1446, 6, June, 2005. A statute of this Euroregion will be adopted, which foresees in particular the participation of the Assembly in the planned “Adriatic Council”. click

Mediterranean Action Plan

The Mediterranean Action Plan (MAP) endeavours to protect the environment and to foster sustainable development in the Mediterranean basin, The MAP is a regional cooperative effort involving 21 countries bordering the Mediterranean Sea, as well as the European Union under the auspices of the United Nations Environment Program (UNEP). Its legal framework comprises the Barcelona Convention adopted in 1976 and revised in 1995, and six protocols covering specific aspects of environmental protection. Under the MAP, the Priority Actions Programme/Regional Activity Centre (PAP/RAC) in Split, Croatia is globally recognized as a leader in Integrated Coastal Area Management. click

Euro-Mediterranean Partnership

The Euro-Mediterranean Conference of Ministers of Foreign Affairs, held in Barcelona on 27-28 November 1995, marked the starting point of the Euro-Mediterranean Partnership (Barcelona Process), a wide framework of political, economic and social relations between the Member States of the European Union and Partners of the Southern Mediterranean. In 2005 at the EURO-MED PARTNERSHIP ENVIRONMENTAL HIGH LEVEL MEETING: “HORIZON 2020”, partner countries adopted a five year work programme that included an initiative to “de-pollute the Mediterranean Sea by 2020,” as proposed by the European Commission (EC). Synergy’s between the Strategic Action Programme and EU measures to combat marine pollution, the Global Environment Facility (GEF) Strategic Partnership, the Mediterranean Strategy for Sustainable Development (MSSD), and the MAP-EC joint programme. click

Stability Pact

While not taking on major new initiatives, the Stability Pact has expressed an interest in Adriatic cooperation and could use its good standing especially among the southern tier countries to encourage their involvement. In the field of Cross Border Cooperation SP Work table will continue supporting Euro regions and micro regions already in place in the region, such as the GPKT (Gnjilane, Presevo, Kumanovo and Trgoviste) and the Southern Adriatic Euro region. click1 click2

The Adriatic-Ionian Initiative (AII)

The Adriatic-Ionian Initiative (AII) was formally established at the conference held in Ancona in May 2000. Seven countries cooperate in the framework of AII: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Greece, Italy, Slovenia and Serbia and Montenegro. AII is aimed to link together the both seas’ coastal countries to cooperate for development and safety of the whole area.

The following Round Tables have been established and meet regularly; combating illegal activities, environmental protection and sustainable development, economy, tourism and small and medium enterprises cooperation, transport and maritime cooperation, culture, education and inter-university cooperation. Its decision-making body is the Council of Foreign Ministers (Adriatic-Ionian Council), whose agenda is prepared by periodic meetings of the National Coordinators. The Adriatic and Ionian Initiative is part of the framework of the Stability Pact, which makes explicit reference to the Initiative. In the framework of the Table on Environmental Protection and Sustainable Development a document called the Adriatic Action Plan (AAP) 2020 was adopted at the environmental ministers’ meeting in June 2003 in Zadar, Croatia.

The Adriatic Action Plan aims to link together the AII Countries in efforts to reduce the negative impacts of human activities in the Adriatic-Ionian basin. Three projects covering the environmental aspect of the AII. The projects initially link three North Adriatic AII member states that are more advanced institutionally, other states have agreed to join and follow the projects in their extended phases or to learn from them in following years.

Contingency plan for the Adriatic. The Governments of the Republic of Croatia, Republic of Italy and Republic of Slovenia signed the Agreement on the Sub-Regional Contingency Plan for Prevention of, Preparedness for and Response to Major Marine Pollution Incidents In The Adriatic Sea, in November, 2005 II. Strategic Environmental Assessment of Maritime Activities Including Ballast Water Issue III. Integrated Coastal Zone Management Used sources: click1 click2 click3

Trilateral Commission for the Protection of the Adriatic

A bilatereral commission on the protection of Adriatic Sea was established between Italy and Yugoslavia on 14.2.1974 (Jugoslovansko - italijanski sporazum o sodelovanju pri varstvu voda Jadranskega morja in obalnih obmocij pred onesnaževanjem). In 1992 this initiative was re-launched in the form of a Trilateral Commission including Italy, Croatia and Slovenia. The PAP/REC in Split, Croatia (see above under point 2) is connected with this initiative. The trilateral commission is responsible for the implementation of international research programs between these countries on the northern flanks of the Adriatic Sea. It was the starting point of the political process resulting in the three Adriatic projects that are included in the MSSD action plan.

ADRICOSM project

The project builds upon the Italian-Slovenian and Croatian agreement for scientific and technological collaboration in the Adriatic Sea and aims to establish an integrated management model for coasts and river basins. It involves sixteen scientific institutions from three Adriatic riparian Countries (Croatia, Italy and Slovenia) as well as France. click

Dinaric Arc Initiative

WWF, UNESCO-ROSTE, UNDP, IUCN and the Council of Europe are already active in the region with a varied portfolio of projects and initiatives aimed at securing the long-term conservation of this corner of Europe. The Dinaric Arc Initiative will enable the organizations to effectively exchange information, creating synergies and ensuring coordinated approach to environmental protection, and avoid unnecessary duplication of efforts. click

Forum of Cities of the Adriatic and Ionian Region

An International Association of Costal Municipalities set up in 1999. It includes 46 cities in seven countries. Its goal is “to create and develop the economic, social, cultural and environmental integration among the towns and cities on the Adriatic and Ionian Sea” as well as “to provide a real contribution to the fulfilment of the European integration and enlargement.” click

FAO AdriaMed project

Regional Project "Scientific Cooperation to Support Responsible Fisheries in the Adriatic Sea" funded by the Italian Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry Policies (MiPAF) and executed by the FAO. AdriaMed was conceived to contribute to the promotion of co-operative fishery management between the participating countries: Albania, Croatia, Italy, Serbia and Montenegro and Slovenia. click